PDA

View Full Version : Automating Outlook

amberel
11th May 2008, 09:19 PM
I would like to automate the extraction of gpx files from the zipped Outlook attachment in which they arrive. I want to extract just one of the 2 files into a specific directory.

At present this takes about 14 mouse clicks. I have to click to open the attachment, select the file I want, make sure WinZip is pointing to the correct directory (which may vary depending on which PQ has sent the file), tell it to extract, to overwrite the existing file, and then close down several windows. I have to repeat this for the 5 PQ's for that day. It's a tedious process.

I'm a programmer, and while I do mostly C and Delphi I'm sure I could manage VB, which is what I assume I would need in order to automate Outlook. But I can't really see where to get started. Any pointers?

Rgds, Andy

dino
11th May 2008, 10:08 PM
Do you use GSAK? If so this is what I do:

Right click on the zip file attachment and save to a folder in My Documents called PQs* (Do that until they are all saved)

In GSAK click Open, click the folder option and navigate to the PQs folder.

Click Go and it opens all the PQs in that folder. The next time I do it GSAK remembers the last folder location I used so that saves a bit of time on repeat loads.

* I name my PQs Name1, Name2, Name3, etc and each day overwrite the old one so that my data doesn't get duplicated and I don't have to go back and delete the old ones each day

amberel
11th May 2008, 10:21 PM
Do you use GSAK? If so this is what I do:

Right click on the zip file attachment and save to a folder in My Documents called PQs* (Do that until they are all saved)

Thanks for that info dino, but this isn't for GSAK. I've written my own mapping software for the PC that imports the gpx files into SQL server and overlays the caches on my maps.