PDA

View Full Version : SideTracked

AngryBirds
25th June 2010, 03:14 PM
Hi there,

I am new to this topic. I just got refused two out of three cache placement near a train station because they were on land owned by a Railway. In both cases, I was not aware to be on their land (but I knew I was close). I did read the policy and I do understand the rationale behind the decision, but that brings a few questions which I could not find an answer for in the forum.

1 - The reviewer mentioned that permission is required to set the cache, if it is on the Railway property. I did not see any agreement or refusal in the GAGB database related to Railway land permission. Has someone tried to contact Railway companies? Is it approved on a case by case basis?

2 - What tool does a reviewer use to find if a cache is located on private land, like Railway properties? Is it something I could also use to prevent me from repeating the same mistake? Can I ask a reviewer to detail their decision (I was given a generic reply, polite but not helpful) in order to have the necessary information to reset the cache outside the Railway property?

3 - As Virtual Caches are now unavailable, can a Mystery or Multi Cache be used to provide access to the Railway station, without breaching the SideTracked policy? I would require the seeker to find numbers on a plaque located within the Railway property and do an offset or a puzzle, leading to a cache outside the area.

Thanks for your help,

Yannick (for the AngryBirds)

Brenin Tegeingl
25th June 2010, 05:42 PM
This Topic (https://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=203068.) explains why Groundspeak's UK Reviewers have put into place a requirement for Proof of Permission to Publish for Network Rail owned Properties.

Groundspeak left the decision up to the then 3 UK Reviewers, and did not impose the decision on us.