PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs some help badly please

Pete007
12th November 2004, 06:49 PM
Hi all, I'm totally new to this, after reading aobut it in my ComputerActive magazine i decided to invesigate it a bit more and am already hooked!!

I've got a couple of questions if anyone doesn't mind answering,

1) I have been doing a lot of research and settled on the Etrex Vista C, i found it available for £279, i then found out that it's going to cost about another £160 to be able to use it as a SatNav system as well. Now, although SatNav isn't too important to me it would be useful as i do a fair bit of driving in my job.

my question is this, should i still go for the Vista C and not worry about the SatNav or can anyone recommend an Ipaq type of thing with SatNav for around the same price? and would that be as good as the Etrex for geocaching??

Hope this makes sense,

Pete

The Wombles
12th November 2004, 08:26 PM
Ther eis a special offer at Aldi for an iPaq equivalent for £249 including Sat Nav software. Details are here (https://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=83917)

If you get an iPaq-type device then you can run GPS software on it such as GPSdash (http://www.handango.com/PlatformProductDetail.jsp?productType=2&optionId=1_2_2&jid=D535F16B2E93E52C2BBX74FEA6XF7E9D&platformId=2&siteId=1&osId=413&productId=65225&sectionId=0&catalog=30&txtSearch=gpsdash) whcih I've never used myself but others like.

It also has the advantage that you can hold lots of cache details in an application such as GPXsonar, whcih I do use and find very good. This can eliminate paper copies (to some degree). I use an iPAQ with TomTom to direct me to the best car parking location.

Other PDAs were discussed here (https://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=83661).