Thanks Thanks:  5
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: New GAGB Cachetags

  1. #1

    Default New GAGB Cachetags

    Following numerous requests we'd like to announce the availability of new GAGB Cache tags.

    A GAGB Cachetag, is a graphical image containing the GAGB logo, and a tagline.

    Heres an example:



    The image is selected at random from those available (currently 2) each image having a different tag line.

    To include a GAGB Cachetag image on you're cache page, website, or forum posts simple use the following code.

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://gagb.org.uk">
    <img src="http://gagb.co.uk/cachetag/gagb_tag.php" alt="GAGB Cache Tag Image" />
    </a>
    At this time, we'd also like to ask for suggestions of other tag lines, obviously the shorted the better.

    Cheers

    StuartP

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Towcester, Northants
    Posts
    124

    Default

    How about a plug for the forum? "Meet us at the Forum" and a link to the forum page

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Barnoldswick, Yorks/Lancs Border
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Well done Stuart.

    The Yorkshire Caching site has had a banner image linking to The GAGB for a while now, but I'll look at changing it to the new style this week.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    47

    Cool

    excellent, thanks.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    572

    Default

    nice one - thanks
    Happy Caching

    Gazooks

    - Setting a good example for children takes all the fun out of middle age.

  6. #6
    FollowMeChaps Guest

    Default

    Being a real fusspot I know but would it be possible to have it without the black outline and ideally a tad smaller. I tried adding it to my cache pages and it doesn't look quite right against the logos I use already.


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ashbourne, Derbyshire
    Posts
    449

    Default

    Try using:
    HTML Code:
    <a href="[URL]http://gagb.org.uk[/URL]">
    <img src="[URL]http://gagb.co.uk/cachetag/gagb_tag.php[/URL]" alt="GAGB Cache Tag Image" border="0" />
    </a>
    Last edited by studlyone; 14th May 2008 at 10:15 PM. Reason: I need a speel chucker
    "I Cache, therefore I am"

  8. #8
    FollowMeChaps Guest

    Default

    Many thanks Ian. I use basic html but confess to not understanding the code. I have tried what you suggest but get the following result:

    Can you advise an html luddite please?:wacko:

  9. #9
    StuartP Guest

    Default

    Try

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://gagb.org.uk">
    <img src="http://gagb.co.uk/cachetag/gagb_tag.php" alt="GAGB Cache Tag Image" border="0" />
    </a>
    The previous example included BB code

    Cheers

    Stuart

  10. #10
    StuartP Guest

    Default

    Just a quick post to say thanks to those that have used the cache tags so far.

    55 cache pages & user profiles are now making use of the new tags.

    Cheers

    Stuart

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ashbourne, Derbyshire
    Posts
    449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StuartP View Post
    Try

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://gagb.org.uk">
    <img src="http://gagb.co.uk/cachetag/gagb_tag.php" alt="GAGB Cache Tag Image" border="0" />
    </a>
    The previous example included BB code

    Cheers

    Stuart
    Pesky BB code - note to self lay off the when trying to post replies and to check and check again.

    Ian
    "I Cache, therefore I am"

  12. #12
    FollowMeChaps Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StuartP View Post
    Try

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://gagb.org.uk">
    <img src="http://gagb.co.uk/cachetag/gagb_tag.php" alt="GAGB Cache Tag Image" border="0" />
    </a>
    The previous example included BB code

    Cheers

    Stuart
    Sorry, this works but still has the black outline I'm trying to get rid of, allbeit less bold! hmy:

    StuartP - I've copied to my GC profile but would prefer to loose the outline before updating my caches; I said I was a fusspot!
    Last edited by FollowMeChaps; 15th May 2008 at 05:27 PM.

  13. #13
    StuartP Guest

    Default

    Ignore that one
    Last edited by StuartP; 15th May 2008 at 07:40 PM. Reason: not fully reading the previous post

  14. #14
    StuartP Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FollowMeChaps View Post
    Sorry, this works but still has the black outline I'm trying to get rid of, allbeit less bold! hmy:

    StuartP - I've copied to my GC profile but would prefer to loose the outline before updating my caches; I said I was a fusspot!
    Ok, the black outline is part of the image.



    I can look at doing a version without this, I'd be interested to hear if any others have thoughts on this ?

    Cheers

    Stuart

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Posts
    5,520

    Default

    Stuart, I can see FollowMeChaps's point, but personally I prefer having the border. Would it be possible to do two versions, one with and one without the border?
    ​​Do not go gentle into that good night.
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light. (Dylan Thomas)​


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •