Thanks Thanks:  0

Thread: New cache on archived site?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Zpyder Guest

Default New cache on archived site?

I have a query regarding what would be deemed best practice.

I'm fairly new to geocaching, with only 35 finds since the end of jan this year, and have only just now started to think of placing my own caches in my local area.

One of the caches I almost found (I found it, but it was meant to have 3 pre-req stages before you could open the padlock, so I didn't sign the log etc) was archived due to the placer moving away, before I could complete the other stages. The location is excellent, is on public land, and has some good scenery. As such it's a typical ideal site.

I emailed the placer a few months ago enquiring over putting a new cache at the site but heard nothing. I was wondering what the best practice is, a new cache would mean people would have to return to the location to sign the log. However the cache might be different, EG, the original was a tupperware box, the new one might be a camouflaged micro, providing a new challenge!

Any thoughts on this, should I perhaps seeks a nearby location that is in the area but not the exact same spot maybe?

As the cache has been archived the site is "open" again for placing a new cache. Feel free to place your planned cache.

Quote Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
    As the cache has been archived the site is "open" again for placing a new cache. Feel free to place your planned cache.
    Seconded!

Just one thing to be aware of, though: That old cache has been archived so you don't have to worry about it. However, since it was archived it is possible that some other cacher may have placed a multi or mystery cache in the area and used the site for their final hidden location. Unless you have found all the caches in the area, you might not be aware of the final hidden location, but your Reviewer will be.