Thanks Thanks:  2
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Sending caches from GSAK to MM - How?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    49

    Question Sending caches from GSAK to MM - How?

    Just a quick question -

    How do you send cache and waypoint details from a GSAK filter to Memory Map?

    At the moment we upload them to a CSX, then import them from the CSX into MM (so we can print off the maps) which works fine but is a bit laborious.


    Many thanks in advance,


    Mike

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    0

    Default

    This gives a reasonably simple explanation of it http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bcmoore/New%20Icons%20Guide/.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    here of course
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mongoose39uk View Post
    This gives a reasonably simple explanation of it http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bcmoore...cons%20Guide/.
    I only get blue circles whenever I try following those instructions

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by von-horst View Post
    Just a quick question -

    How do you send cache and waypoint details from a GSAK filter to Memory Map?

    At the moment we upload them to a CSX, then import them from the CSX into MM (so we can print off the maps) which works fine but is a bit laborious.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Mike
    PUP port.
    I'll go and find the link...
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  6. #6
    FuzzyBears Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matrix View Post
    I only get blue circles whenever I try following those instructions

    Check the text files to make sure they are looking in the right place for GSAK.. as standard it looks for C:\program files\gsak and GSAK now installs to C:/ GSAK edit them in note book and using edit/replace replace \program files with a blank

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FuzzyBears View Post
    Check the text files to make sure they are looking in the right place for GSAK.. as standard it looks for C:\program files\gsak and GSAK now installs to C:/ GSAK edit them in note book and using edit/replace replace \program files with a blank
    Spot on, I did forget to mention that

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    here of course
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FuzzyBears View Post
    Check the text files to make sure they are looking in the right place for GSAK.. as standard it looks for C:\program files\gsak and GSAK now installs to C:/ GSAK edit them in note book and using edit/replace replace \program files with a blank
    Aha the FuzzyBears are simply the best :cheers:

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    here of course
    Posts
    640

    Default

    OK next problem If I send the data to my pda it sends the icon for a trig point but it sends blue dots for all the others

  10. #10
    FuzzyBears Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matrix View Post
    OK next problem If I send the data to my pda it sends the icon for a trig point but it sends blue dots for all the others
    Try going into overlay/ icons menu on your PC and manually delete ALL the icons... then do the export again from GSAK ... MM has a limit to how many icons it can have

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Anywhere the mood takes us
    Posts
    2,538

    Default

    Or try using Geocache Log, I do and I get the LordElph icons on my Memory Map linked to the rekevant web pages and on my PDA all linked to handy text files.
    It is a good alternative to GSAK and does not need any MACRO extensions to do the jobs.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    here of course
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FuzzyBears View Post
    Try going into overlay/ icons menu on your PC and manually delete ALL the icons... then do the export again from GSAK ... MM has a limit to how many icons it can have
    Tried that still blue dots for caches

    Update sorted now with a reboot :cheers:

    Quote Originally Posted by DrDick&Vick View Post
    Or try using Geocache Log, I do and I get the LordElph icons on my Memory Map linked to the rekevant web pages and on my PDA all linked to handy text files.
    It is a good alternative to GSAK and does not need any MACRO extensions to do the jobs.
    GSAK creates the CSV and when its imported into MM the icons appear so that bit works its Memory Map thats not sending the icons to the PDA

    Update and apologies to MM for my incompetence
    Last edited by Matrix; 10th April 2009 at 10:38 AM.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    277

    Default

    I've put an illustrated document together on how to use Lordelph's icons and GSAK with Memory Map on the PC and PDA and caches linked to both cachemate or HTML files on the PDA - without the blue dots!. Uses Big Wolf's excellent (and very fast) macro to get the cachemate database working.
    http://www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/paperless/mm_pda.pdf

    I've also done one for GSAK to TomTom using Big Wolf's macro that builds a POI database and displays cache icons on the TT screen.

    http://www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/paperless/gsak_tt.pdf

    Both are pdf documents and you'll Adobe Reader to view them.

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •