Thanks Thanks:  3
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Memory Map & GSAK on PC and laptop

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nr Pershore, Worcs
    Posts
    93

    Question Memory Map & GSAK on PC and laptop

    I've recently aquired a laptop and was wondering if Memory Map and GSAK can be copied from my main PC onto the laptop for use when on holiday. I'd like to download PQ's to the laptop, GSAK them and then load updates to the Mio in the usual way.

    Is this doable with MM & GSAK or do I need further licences?

    I can't find anything on the MM site to explain if it is ok and also if the licence allows this. Haven't checked GSAK as there is no point if I can't do the MM bit, I guess!

    Thanks for any help.

    Henry.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    843

    Default

    GSAK no problem running on two computers.*
    I think you need to Backup your database/s and copy them over to the second computer.

    *Clyde has said he has no problems with running two copies, he understands some people use GSAK at home and at work... So long as it's not two -or more- people using the same copy.

    There is a thread on the GSAK forums to explain how to copy the bits over.

    Memory Map may require a second licence.

    edit to add
    http://gsak.net/board/index.php?showtopic=11739
    Last edited by Bear and Ragged; 5th May 2009 at 06:48 PM. Reason: added link
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  3. #3
    forestferret Guest

    Default

    not a hundred percent sure
    but imho if you have purchased memory maps on cd cant you just install it to your laptop ??
    i have a few pc games that i have installed on my home pc and the laptop and i dont belive im breaching any laws ???
    as for digital downloads im not sure how the licence applies then as i always try to buy my software in hard copy form cd dvd etc

    im gonna do a bit of poking around on the net and see what i can find out hopfully somthing usefull for you

    ok i have had a poke round the memory maps site and it seems the licence is for one pc and one pda only so running it on two pc,s is not allowed
    sorry mate

    http://www.memory-map.co.uk/terms_and_conditions.htm#1
    Last edited by forestferret; 5th May 2009 at 07:10 PM.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Exmouth, Devon
    Posts
    39

    Default

    I looked into this a while back and the answer back from memory map was a resounding NO .... only allowed 1 x PC + 1 x PDA, they advised me to uninstall from one PC before transferring to another. In the end I opted for keeping the main copy on my laptop as that's the one that travels with me.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    843

    Default

    If your old PC went *pop bang* and you couldn't 'uninstall' the software from it... How would Memory Map allow you to 'install' it on your new computer? h34r:
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nr Pershore, Worcs
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Thanks all, guess I need to think about this one....

    GSAK no probs, I'll look when I have a few mins.

    MM, customer service at its best!

    Cheers, H.

  7. #7
    keehotee Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L8HNB View Post
    Thanks all, guess I need to think about this one....

    GSAK no probs, I'll look when I have a few mins.

    MM, customer service at its best!

    Cheers, H.
    Memory Map will run on one, two, three, four (need I carry on) PC's....depending on how many you install it on.
    There is no online verification, so if you install using the same name and serial/key it will run.

    However, if you've asked MM whether you can do this, and they've told you NO, ignorance is no longer a defence should the MM Police decide to raid you and find out you're running more than one copy!!!!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    843

    Default

    "...It's a 'personal back-up copy'..."

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nr Pershore, Worcs
    Posts
    93

    Default

    h34r: LOL - don't know what your talking about h34r:

    But thanks anyway

    H

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •