Thanks Thanks:  7
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: How to alter fonts on cache pages?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dalston, near Carlisle
    Posts
    78

    Default How to alter fonts on cache pages?

    Ok peeps, I have submitted a cache on GC.com, and wanted to make some of the words in italics and or bold. Does anyone know how to do this? I ended up putting some text in capitals, but wanted it in bold.

    I tried it in word first, then pasted to the cache page.....but it just stayed the same!

    Any ideas? (and in one, two, three type steps.....ta!)

    Gaz

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Posts
    5,520

    Default

    First tick the box labelled "The descriptions below are in HTML".

    Then use the following (you'll need to use the paragraph and line break tags, not just hit "Enter" for a new paragraph, etc.):

    New paragraph (for blank space between paragraphs) <p>

    Line break (for starting a new line with no blank space above it) <br>

    Bold text <b>Text here</b>

    Italics <i>Text here</i>

    If you want any more tags just shout.
    ​​Do not go gentle into that good night.
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light. (Dylan Thomas)​


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    S. E. Wales
    Posts
    1,223

    Default

    To make it bold I do this <strong>yourwordhere</strong>

    To make italics I do this <i>anotherword</i>

    To make it bold and italics I do this <strong><i>morewords</strong></i>

    I've put "I do this" because I'm no expert and there may be more correct / better ways to do these things... but it works.

    Edited to say... Obviously Bill and I were thinking along similar lines, but he uses a b and I use strong. I think I used to use a b, but changed to strong... Can't remember why, though!
    Last edited by Mrs Blorenge; 20th June 2009 at 05:06 PM.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ashbourne, Derbyshire
    Posts
    449

    Default

    Just a quick correction, for paragraphs you need to use:

    <p>at the start of the paragraph and finish the paragraph with</p>

    Ian
    "I Cache, therefore I am"

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Posts
    5,520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by studlyone View Post
    Just a quick correction, for paragraphs you need to use:

    <p>at the start of the paragraph and finish the paragraph with</p>

    Ian
    Oops, I forgot to say that, doh...!
    ​​Do not go gentle into that good night.
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light. (Dylan Thomas)​


  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Or.... have a look at my resource website which has a 'How to do HTML'... all you ever needed to know to make your cache page a complete eyesore

    It does have hints on how to practice doing it with a text file first and looking at the result in your web browser before committing it to the cache page.

    Chris (MrB)
    www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/resources

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ashbourne, Derbyshire
    Posts
    449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Blorenge View Post
    Or.... have a look at my resource website which has a 'How to do HTML'... all you ever needed to know to make your cache page a complete eyesore

    It does have hints on how to practice doing it with a text file first and looking at the result in your web browser before committing it to the cache page.

    Chris (MrB)
    www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/resources
    Very nicely done indeed. Nice and easy to understand whilst still being very comprehensive in the features explained.
    "I Cache, therefore I am"

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dalston, near Carlisle
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Cheers for all the info folks, I haven't really understood all the "techy" jargon, though I have seen it. I will have a look at the link you posted Chris, ta.

    I am setting a new cache either tonight or tomorrow, so will have a go at "bold-ing", or "italic-ing" some words

    Gaz

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dalston, near Carlisle
    Posts
    78

    Default

    I submitted a cache today and managed to put text in bold

    Cheers Chris, your site is very helpful, and easy to understand :cheers:

    Gaz

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Beds
    Posts
    75

    Default

    I wish I'd spotted this thread last night before submitting the info for our first ever cache!!!

    Can I cahange the detail of the cache page once it has been through the reviwer?
    He who hesitates is not only lost, but miles from the next exit.

    How Many Roads Must A Man Walk Down Before He Admits Hes lost?

    Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go. - TS ELLIOT

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Family_Moose View Post
    I wish I'd spotted this thread last night before submitting the info for our first ever cache!!!

    Can I cahange the detail of the cache page once it has been through the reviwer?

    You can edit the content of the cache page any time you like. Co ordinates you can make minor changes to, bigger ones need a reviewer to help.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Go to the top right hand side, and hit EDIT cache...

    Edit away to your heart's content, and then submit changes... easy peesy.

    When I'm doing cache pages I do a basic write up and then I go in and add the HTML. Sometimes it can take me 20 - 30 edits if there's lots cos I check the page after each alteration to make sure I've got it right (I'm a numpty with HTML!!)
    Now doing small hills!
    Still blonde under the hair dye ;-)

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hazels View Post
    Go to the top right hand side, and hit EDIT cache...

    Edit away to your heart's content, and then submit changes... easy peesy.

    When I'm doing cache pages I do a basic write up and then I go in and add the HTML. Sometimes it can take me 20 - 30 edits if there's lots cos I check the page after each alteration to make sure I've got it right (I'm a numpty with HTML!!)
    Of course you can always do like a certain numpty who reviews caches for you . Set up a test page, mark it as test or similar and do not activate it, you can then post all sorts of HTML code to it to see what it looks like . It's amazing how many test page caches are out there. Oh and dont forget to put the coordinates in the middle of the SEA

    Deci
    My post is my personal opinion and as such you do not have my permission to quote me outside of these forums!

    Dave
    Brenin Tegeingl
    Formerly known as Mancunian Pyrocacher on GC

  14. #14
    beefy4605 Guest

    Default

    For those using Mozilla firefox you can get a WYSIWYG page editor from Xinha - https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1449 .
    As mentioned above start a test cache page and play around with it .

  15. #15
    keehotee Guest

    Default

    Or try this one http://net2.com/nvu/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •