Thanks Thanks:  3
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Pocket Queries: am I doing something wrong?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ringwood, Hampshire
    Posts
    32

    Default Pocket Queries: am I doing something wrong?

    When I got the bug, I registered with GC.com in November 2003 but various circumstances (helping run our family’s pub until late 2006 – holding a part-time working from home job as a website manager and steadily worsening back problems – no apathy or laziness involved at all, oh no) subsequently conspired to curtail my geocaching activities.

    The mobility difficulties stemming from a couple of naff spinal nerves and discs have been significantly alleviated by surgery a few months ago and (having flipped up the lethargy switch as well) I have recently recommenced my geocaching efforts. However, I often find it quite difficult to walk more than moderate distances to find a cache – at the moment, 2 to 3 km over flattish terrain is about my limit, and that’s usually with a walking stick (varying degrees of necessity for this), although I am starting to think I might be able to use my mountain bike again which would open up somewhat greater distances (as long as there was some way I could get on the bloody thing without a mounting block and off it without falling over sideways).

    So, although it’s not anywhere near as bad as it might be, I need to establish which caches I’d be able to do fairly easily. I’ve just submitted a PQ to list up to 200 caches near my home location with difficulty and terrain ratings of 1 or less (are there any rated a half, I wonder?). On submitting the query, the automated message says that it currently returns 0 results. Am I doing something wrong? I’ve set the following criteria for the PQ: Days to generate: Friday; Run this query every week on the days checked; Show me 100 caches of any type; Any container; That I haven’t found; And terrain is less than or equal to 1; Within United Kingdom; From My Home Co-ordinates; Within radius of 100 miles; Placed: None Selected; Output to my account’s e-mail address; In .GPX format (compressed). When I got the zero message, I tried different terrain and difficulty ratings and still got zilch!

    I’d be grateful for any advice/suggestions. Maybe I could get those jolly nice folk at GC.com to add the search criteria “decrepit old codger with a stick/with a bike/without a bike”!
    It only takes one drink to get me drunk, but I can never remember if it was the thirteenth or fourteenth.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Copy one of these but dont use the date ranges just make sure everything else matches.

    http://markandlynn.croaghan.com/Pape...hing_guide.PDF

    Id recomend asking for 500 caches and up your terrain to at least 1.5.

    Make sure no other boxes have inadbertently got ticked as well.
    "If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to serve as a horrible warning."

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ringwood, Hampshire
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Thanks so much for your help, it's much appreciated. Actually, I do keep GSAK up to date with UK caches but, as I hadn't used the program's filtering facility to any great extent before, I didn't even think to look at it! Another old codger moment!
    It only takes one drink to get me drunk, but I can never remember if it was the thirteenth or fourteenth.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Also.
    Don't check "Day to Run" until you've run the PQ.

    If you've set things 'right' you should get a page saying "This has *** caches, view on nearest search page" or similar.

    If it's what you're after, now edit and select "Day to Run" -saves using actual PQ's until you're ready.
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  5. #5
    nobbynobbs Guest

    Default

    i'd set the terrain at 2. green fordv go is rated as a 2 but the terrain isn't that bad unless it's been really wet.

    it'll give you a starting point.

  6. #6
    FuzzyBears Guest

    Default

    Having similar problems to the OP I have found the best tool for sorting caches is Memory map (or the streetmaps map on GC).. We get our nearest 450 caches that we haven't done in a PQ transfer these to MM via GSAK /Lord Elf's wonderful icons.... You can then see how far from parking and a rough idea of terrain... what type of cache and if you set the export right the T/D setting for the cache...
    I have seen T1 caches with a 5 mile hike and T2 caches which are just up a short banking from a lay-by
    Then with a quick click you can go to the cache page and check the details

    Having the same set up on a PDA allows for drive by caching if you have time to spare on a journey .. We picked up 5 on the way homeon Saturday all within 1k from the road. and have done 15 in a day without going more than 1.5k
    Not a cheap solution but a good one IMO
    Dave

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    321

    Default

    I've got rubbish legs so we check the distance needed to walk for traditionals on Street map or paper Ordance map .
    About 800 metres each way is my comfort distance .
    Also check the contour lines for gradients .
    And check cache details for mention of stiles.
    All very time consuming ..but needs must these days .

    Multies we sometimes do in stageson different days .
    Have already done the final stage of your Lakeland Plastic .
    We like Greens

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ringwood, Hampshire
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Thanks again for all the helpful comments. I've recently started using MM to check distances from car parks etc. Glad you've nearly completed Lakeland Plastic, t.a. folk! Are you doing it backwards? You won't be the first if you are!
    It only takes one drink to get me drunk, but I can never remember if it was the thirteenth or fourteenth.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LoisInTheForest View Post
    Thanks so much for your help, it's much appreciated. Actually, I do keep GSAK up to date with UK caches but, as I hadn't used the program's filtering facility to any great extent before, I didn't even think to look at it! Another old codger moment!
    if you need a hand with some GSAK filters, feel free to give me a shout - I may even be able to rustle up something appropriate for you and e-mail it over.

    Dave
    purple_pineapple

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •