Thanks Thanks:  0

Thread: Aye Aye! Noob questions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Aye Aye! Noob questions

Hello folks,
    I'm a total novice to geocaching, in fact I only discovered it by accident a few days ago.
    I do a bit of hill walking and I was looking for a good sat nav that I could use in the car and on the hills, I bought a Garmin nuvi 550 and after a bit of investigation I also bought the OS GB discoverer map of scotland for it.
    It was on the Garmin site that i first read about geocaching, I decided to look for a UK specific forum and here I am!
    I have a few questions that I hope you can answer for me.
    1) What equipment do I need / would you reccommend apart from my GPS and normal hiking gear?
    2) What should I leave or take from any caches? What sort of gifts should I leave?
    3) Is the book "Geocaching for Dummies" a worthwhile investment?

If there's any other top tips you can think of I'd be greatfull.
    I'm on holiday in Glencoe in a couple of weeks time so I'm planning my first geocaching outing for then but at the moment I'm stuck on an oilrig in the north sea so all my research has to be on the internet.
    Cheers!:socool:
    Slorach

nobbynobbs Guest

Welcome to the hobby.

loads of questions so I'll answer what i can.

what gear do you need? not much, you can print out the cache details, so a pencil/pen, map, safety gear appropriate to your location and a gps. Then get out for a great walk with a purpose.

What can you take. At caches you'll find normal trade items, pens badges pretty much anything but usually not very expensive, pound stores are often a good location to find odds and ends to swap. The simple rule is to swap with something that is equal or higher in value to what you take.