Thanks Thanks:  6

Thread: Please be gentle, I'm new to all this...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Buckleberry Guest

Default Please be gentle, I'm new to all this...

Hi there! As the title suggests, I'm new to this site & geocaching and am still actually awaiting the arrival of my SatMap A10+ but thought I'd check out a few sites first. This seems like the place to be.

Originally, I wanted a GPS unit to use when I go mountain biking but became intrigued by geocaching after seeing an article in a magazine a few months ago. I live in Wickford, Essex and wonder if anyone can point me in the direction of any locations that are used in the County. I do a lot of mountain biking at Epping, Danbury (nr. Chelmsford), Langdon Hills, Warley and Thorndon Country Parks so this is where I'm most interested in heading out.

I haven't been able to find much online about any specific geocaching in Essex and would be grateful if anyone could give me a few pointers on where to go and, what to expect..!

Many thanks.

nobbynobbs Guest

Welcome to the hobby.

The main listing site is www.geocaching.com free to register. then go and do a search for your nearest cache using your post code.

for your first couple I'd try a simple terrain 1* and difficulty again 1* with a large container.

At the same time have a search for any event caches happening near to you. basically meeting up with other cachers for a drink and chat and probably a cache or two.

have a look and see if it makes sense. then when you come up with any problems just ask away.

Welcome! There is a geocaching event in Chelmsford on the 13th January. Great opportunity to meet your local cachers and find out more about this strange hobby of ours!

Chris (MrB)

A very warm welcome to this addictive hobby
    Quote Originally Posted by nobbynobbs View Post
    Welcome to the hobby.