Thanks Thanks:  2
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Down loading Geocaches

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Down loading Geocaches

    Any body help, trying to down load geocaches but it keeps telling me that the plug in was not unlocked successfully. Any idea's thanks.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I have had the same problem today. I think it is a fault with geocaching.com


    :socool:

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Groundspeak forum full of similar posts.

    Seems to be a problem with the first bit of the web address HTTP... If it has a 'S' in there the plug in wont work.

    Try.
    Look at a different page, ie one without the 'S' (seems people are getting problems on the map page, but not from the cache page?)

    Are you a Premium Member?
    Download a Pocket Query.

    Another option... Download to your desktop, then load to the GPS via Drag n Drop. That should bypass the Garmin Communicator plug in.
    Last edited by Bear and Ragged; 17th May 2014 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Had another thought!
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    9

    Red face Re; loading geocaches

    Thanks for your replies. I was trying to down load from geocache map which would not let me down load. I had to get gc No go to cache and do it that way, along way around but got there in the end. Thanks again.

  5. #5

    Default

    Can no longer download geocaches through Garmin Communicator plug in as Google Chrome no longer supports the software (or something like that) So what do i do now

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cirencester
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cherianda View Post
    Can no longer download geocaches through Garmin Communicator plug in as Google Chrome no longer supports the software (or something like that) So what do i do now
    Are you a premium member, and do you have the GSAK program? That is what I use when I want to put more than one cache at a time into my old GPSr which I never got to work with the Communicator plugin.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cherianda View Post
    Can no longer download geocaches through Garmin Communicator plug in as Google Chrome no longer supports the software (or something like that) So what do i do now
    Firefox web browser.

    Or use Pocket Queries.
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  8. #8

    Default

    Further to my post of the 20th I now find Firefox is no longer supporting garmin. Very frustrating,feel like throwing the Garmin Dakota 10 away.Is there an easy,foolproof way of downloading Geocaches.You may have guessed I am an occasional Geocacher! Not very technical

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Land of the Bear and Ragged Staff!
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Pocket Queries.

    http://www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/re...paperless.html

    Or. for individual caches, download the GPX file to your desktop, then drag n drop -or copy n paste- to the GPX folder on your GPS.
    (You could download the GPX file direct to the folder on the GPS, but I don't know how quick/slow it is...)
    I have a Geocaching problem...
    Work gets in the way!

    * Cache Walker -Caching by byway, not highway! CacheWalker.co.uk
    Walking and Caching in Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire areas

  10. #10

    Default

    I have just started having a problem downloading caches to my Maggellan Explorist 610 and 310 using "Send to my GPS" option from Geocaching.com . I have tried this on both a desktop and a laptop and using Firefox and Edge. Looking at the Geocaching.com forums this is not just an isolated problem, unfortunately they are only talking about a fix for Garmin devices. However reading some earlier posts in GAGB I think I can see a solution i.e. use Pocket Queries and download via that route, I will try this and post the result.

    It is not my preferred solution but Pocket Queries is working for me. Thank you Bear and Ragged.
    Last edited by davecorncroft; 27th March 2017 at 12:06 PM. Reason: update

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •